June 20 (Sunday): Mexico. Fresh out from the airport free flow writing

Out of Cacun airport

Growing up from the Philippines, I knew how it was like being in a tropical country. It’s been 7 years since I came back to my home country. My house mate owns a land with a palapa in Sacbe, a jungle in Cancun. He also has a time-share to 5-star resorts around Quintana Roo State area. When I found out a couple of months ago that he was coming over to Cancun this month, I jumped in to join him for a little bit with tropical dreams. A 10 day adventure with a fantasy of doing underwater photography of people. When I stepped out of the plane in Cancun International Airport, I felt like a fried egg from the humidity in the air. Les waited for me at the airport’s cafe watching soccer while eating ceviches. I just had to have those ceviches so when he asked me if I wanted the rest from his big platter of leftover ceviches, I jumped for it. No resistance. Just gobbled it. I was stuck in Edmonton Airport the night before, and I was planning to sleep under one of those rows of chairs in the airport, and be right in time for my 6:30 am flight to Cancun the next day. I didn’t get any sleep at all since at dawn is when the cleaning people bring out their noisy cleaning machines to disturb the isolation of the airport. Ahh. Adios sleep. I just decided to do some studying for my yoga teacher training. I was able to accomplish a lot of reading, but the uncertainty that all the information just read stayed put in my head was doubtful. Without any sleep, I looked forward to the idea of breakfast in the airplane amidst airplane food’s reputation of horribility, instead we only had an option of cookie and tidbits with drinks. So ceviches when I landed in Cancun was just plain awesome.

Snake separating highway

The surrounding area had some sort of nostalgia. A tiny bit like Manila with its similarities. The humid weather and aggressive taxi drivers harassing potential passengers. The Mayan people look so much like Filipinos: dark, short and pudgy nosed. They were warm with that mix of flirtatiousness and all-smiles. Well, that’s where Filipinos originally came from through boat hundreds of years ago, from the Mayan Riviera…so duuuhh… Every couple feet within the airport vicinity I got hit on by these flirtatious young Mayan men, they were pretty persuasive flirts, but instead of feeling harassed, I found them hilarious, so I joked with them and laughed off their flirty wordyness.

The drive to the resort was interesting. The nostalgia got disrupted when I saw vast spaces of Westernized and commercialized resorts and animal sculptures in the middle of the highway. Manila didn’t have much vast space based on how I remembered it. It didn’t have big thousand acre  resorts and it didn’t have big snake sculptures in the middle of the highway.

Main entrance to the Royal Hacienda Resort

Entering the resort vecinity

Royal Hacienda entrance

Entering the resort vicinity

The Royal Hacienda’s Grand Coral entrance was fancy. It was touristy and grand. The colors made me happy, since fun colors have a way with me. It looked comfortable, but I had to admit, I was worried of the idea of being stuck in resort mode. I wanted to see, hang out and mingle with locals in a non-pretentious atmosphere.

Another angle of the Royal Hacienda

Royal Hacienda 1

Jacuzzi at Royal Hacienda

My inner hopes came true when Les told me that we were going to the solstice performance celebration happening all day, during my 1st day in Cancun. it was an event at Sacbe where he gave me a short tour of his palapa, and we watched the evening shows. The performances by local performance artists were top notch. It was AMaAaZING! I had soOoo much fun. There were lotsa white hippies from Playa del Carmen. I met a couple of Les’ local artist friends, they were quiet a diverse of characters. 🙂 It was a good beginning for me in Cancun.

Leave a Reply

