V-Tarp

June 10-16, 2010. WE newspaper. Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

I came across his article a couple of months ago and kept it, but didnt get the chance to read it until today. In May 2009, I got hooked up by an individual who has a network with BC Transit on their planned anti-grafitti project plan to get ready for the Olympics. As a fresh graduate, I was really excited to work on my 1st out-of school contract. As a naive graduate, I am an easy bait for cheap labor, even from the corporate world. I was really grateful that one of my teachers in Emily Carr stood up to act as my agent, because  BC Transit was working on taking advantage of my fresh graduate status by under paying us on the artist fee. She went to all the board meetings in relation to the project. She would update us on their decisions in the meeting. It sounded like a stressful ordeal in her part, and I was pretty stressed too because while this was all happening I was job-hunting and bill collectors were after me from the unpaid bills I have accumulated after graduation.  My instructor stood her ground backing me up and I got paid the artist fee I deserved, than originally planned. The project was a really good plan of preventing grafiti artists to tamper on empty transit spaces, since it was proven to work in Paris. But that didn’t stop Jerm and his V-Tarp team from expressing out their belief/opinion of advertisements and empty advertisement spaces in transit areas during the Olympics in Vancouver. I found the pretentiousness of such a display unbearable. Jerm’s voice is a point that is a MUST-BE-EXPRESSED in nature. I am glad that we have a brave soul who is willing to go out of his way to even get himself in trouble from authority, though the reaction by BC Transit was exaggerated. It’s so cool that we have a Bansky in the city, I am a fan of Bansky and Jerm’s public art. 🙂 I agree with Jerm “Things like that are some of the things that makes cities cool and vibrant”


Leave a Reply

